Deep Space Music Exploration

I haven’t really taken the time to talk about music all that much, at least not on here.  I think its time to change that.  Music is such a huge part of my life.  Not concerts and clubbing even, its more a personal experience for me.  Don’t get me wrong, I love love love to share my music, but its more of an intimate thing.  I think this is one of the reasons that being a DJ never really stuck with me and I moved on to something else.

I think of exploring the music dimension and imagine exploring deep space, filled with nebulae, stars, and occasionally, a habitable planet or exciting pulsar.  I am not one for Top 40 or really for music that plays on most radio stations.  I’ve always seen these as kind of the layman’s or lazyman’s way to find new music (if I’m referring to you, I apologize, I’m a snob).  I have found music in so many different avenues, though last.fm has been a huge help.  When people talk about Pandora internet radio, I could rant for ages at how limited Pandora’s underground music selection is.

So just for a basic run down, let me tell you my music listening past.  I grew up on classic rock and classic and still have a healthy respect for both, though there are only so many times you can hear “We Will Rock You” or “Kashmir”.  I went through a very brief alternative rock and grunge phase when it was popular.  I then hopped into Punk rock for a solitary minute.  Then I started listening to trance and house as I started college.  I loved electronic music, but what I started to find is that the briefest exposure I had to goth electronic i.e. synthpop, industrial, EBM, made me love that genre much more than just trance.  I’ve been exploring goth ever since the middle of my college years.

I kind of have this unofficial goal that I set for myself.  Its never really been in stone.  Basically, I want to try to find 1 new awesome song each week that I have never heard before.  Some months, I go with a dry spell.  Other times, I hit the freaking jack pot.  I remember when I was trying to look for the band Cut Rate Box and accidentally typed in or stumbled across Mind.In.A.Box.  I got their only album that was out at the time (Lost Alone).  I was absolutely blown away.  They are still probably my favorite band (and almost the only band I haven’t seen in concert that I really *really* want to see).

The two gems that I have found in the past two weeks are by two bands I’ve already loved and known for a hot couple minutes.

This song made me wonder why I thought that new Covenant was heading in a direction that I didn’t like. After giving this a couple dozen listens, I decided to listen to their album, Skyshaper, again. I found that I enjoyed it much much more than I remembered. I think I went into that album with the wrong mindset and then it convinced me that new Covenant would just be sucky (not true at all). I’m sorry Covenant, I love you.

About dhunterphillips

Visit my Facebook Fan Page to connect: http://www.facebook.com/DavidHunterPhillips While not working as a GeoInt Analyst in the Washington DC metro area, D. Hunter Phillips enjoys a life-long love of sci-fi, fantasy, role-playing games, and a great many other nerdy things that he explores through writing and games. D. Hunter regularly writes board game reviews at BoardGaming.com. Through his writing, D. Hunter hopes to inspire and speculate on the future and the past. He seeks deeper meanings within pulp genres of fantasy and sci-fi. D. Hunter enjoys the tales of John Ringo and Charles Stross. D. Hunter's readings lead him in a never ending cycle of sci-fi, history, physics, and psychology. D. Hunter enjoys going to DC area Goth clubs and seeing some of his favorite bands, such as VNV Nation. He also loves his home life with his partner in crime and several pets.
This entry was posted in Goth, Goth, Music, Synthpop and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

