My next novel

I started my current novel in progress for NanoWrimo in November.  I didn’t “win” this year with 50,000 words by the end of the month.  I did have about 35,000 words with a general outline of what I wanted to do.  I was feeling confident and excited.  Real life got in the way a lot and I have now been separated from the content for long enough that I have forgotten some of it.

The even harder part about this current position is that when I have described the book that I am working on to people, they get very excited and start asking me further questions about it.  That is a great sign.  A paranormal fantasy about Unicorns and cannibals instead of vampires and werewolves… oh yes please!  I need to make this book happen.  Its been a while since I have had such a money crunch as right now and I want to make sure the book has solid editing for grammar and content.

I have been contemplating releasing a chapter at a time on my blog in order to generate some interest from other people to give me inspiration to continue.  I have reservations for doing this as well.  If I write a full length novel this time, I want people to buy it, and releasing it all for free makes me feel a little nervous.  Also, if I release it on my blog, it will probably not have as much rigorous editing as if I published it in a book.  I don’t want people to think that what they see on the blog is what they’d get in the end.

This idea is still up in the air, and since I am now pushing my blog, I will write short stories to put on here instead of pieces of the novel.  This will further delay the novel and possibly even make the delay indefinite.  This is what I am worried about.

Share your thoughts with me.

About dhunterphillips

Visit my Facebook Fan Page to connect: http://www.facebook.com/DavidHunterPhillips While not working as a GeoInt Analyst in the Washington DC metro area, D. Hunter Phillips enjoys a life-long love of sci-fi, fantasy, role-playing games, and a great many other nerdy things that he explores through writing and games. D. Hunter regularly writes board game reviews at BoardGaming.com. Through his writing, D. Hunter hopes to inspire and speculate on the future and the past. He seeks deeper meanings within pulp genres of fantasy and sci-fi. D. Hunter enjoys the tales of John Ringo and Charles Stross. D. Hunter's readings lead him in a never ending cycle of sci-fi, history, physics, and psychology. D. Hunter enjoys going to DC area Goth clubs and seeing some of his favorite bands, such as VNV Nation. He also loves his home life with his partner in crime and several pets.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

