National Kite Festival

Last Saturday was the National Kite Festival. I had no idea what I was getting myself into. The mall was packed. It looked like DC was being attacked by a whole bunch of super tiny UFOs!

National Kite Festival

National Kite Festival

National Kite Festival

National Kite Festival

National Kite Festival

National Kite Festival

Washington Monument

Washington Monument

Random shot

Random shot

National Kite Festival

National Kite Festival

National Kite Festival

National Kite Festival

The next few shots are all from the kite battles. I’ve never heard of a kite battle, but it was a lot of fun to watch. Essentially, you try to get the other kites knocked down to touch the ground or break the string that holds them to their user. The wind died for part of two rounds of the battle, which made for short and boring runs. Though, when the wind picked up, it was pretty fun to watched the kites fly around and the people run around trying to get an advantage on the other kites.

Kite Battles

Kite Battles

Kite Battles

Kite Battles

Kite Battles

Kite Battles

Kite Battles

Kite Battles

World War 2 Memorial

World War 2 Memorial

World War 2 Memorial

World War 2 Memorial

National Kite Festival

National Kite Festival

Vietnam Memorial

Vietnam Memorial


I feel like I would get much more understanding out of the Vietnam memorial if I went with my dad. I didn’t feel right taking a picture of it until I saw an older gentleman rubbing his hands along a few of the names. Then, the moment struck me. I always envisioned the wall being taller. Still, that moment really brought forth the emotions I expected.

Lincoln Memorial

Lincoln Memorial


I’ve driven by the Lincoln Memorial so many times, it almost has lost its luster. Though, it is so huge and so classical European, I loved seeing it on foot and up close. Though, it was so packed inside, I decided discretion was the much better part of valor.

Dates and Dancing 018
All my clothes are so dark that my body disappears! I had to get myself in a shot up there.

Reflecting Pool

Reflecting Pool


This is such a beautiful part of DC. I must say, I actually like the monument with the scaffolding, it gives it more dimension.

Me Being Goofy

Me Being Goofy

Me

Me


I had to get goofy and pretend to hold up some heavy stones, its such a classic pose for me.

Scary car

Scary car


The tour of the mall ended and then on the way to dinner, I spotted this gem. Really? Only a Cowboys fan would do something as silly as this and in enemy territory too. I just had to shake my head and capture the moment in a picture.

About dhunterphillips

Visit my Facebook Fan Page to connect: http://www.facebook.com/DavidHunterPhillips While not working as a GeoInt Analyst in the Washington DC metro area, D. Hunter Phillips enjoys a life-long love of sci-fi, fantasy, role-playing games, and a great many other nerdy things that he explores through writing and games. D. Hunter regularly writes board game reviews at BoardGaming.com. Through his writing, D. Hunter hopes to inspire and speculate on the future and the past. He seeks deeper meanings within pulp genres of fantasy and sci-fi. D. Hunter enjoys the tales of John Ringo and Charles Stross. D. Hunter's readings lead him in a never ending cycle of sci-fi, history, physics, and psychology. D. Hunter enjoys going to DC area Goth clubs and seeing some of his favorite bands, such as VNV Nation. He also loves his home life with his partner in crime and several pets.
This entry was posted in DC/NOVA, Nerd Activities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

