Conventions and Selling books

I’ve been setting a goal for myself to start selling my books and other associated items at conventions in the coming years. It didn’t really make sense to set up a booth for just my one novella. I’ve been trying to get back in to writing my next book or getting my already finished science fantasy novel into an editor’s hands and perhaps then onto my library of books to sell.

I know that I need to start paying better attention to con schedules (especially local ones) and figuring out the processes to getting a booth at them to sell them.

I know this is a shot in the dark, as most of my readers here are not the type selling things at cons, but if anyone does read this and has any advice into how to go through the process, what would be needed to make it a profitable (or at least successful in some way) venture.

About dhunterphillips

Visit my Facebook Fan Page to connect: http://www.facebook.com/DavidHunterPhillips While not working as a GeoInt Analyst in the Washington DC metro area, D. Hunter Phillips enjoys a life-long love of sci-fi, fantasy, role-playing games, and a great many other nerdy things that he explores through writing and games. D. Hunter regularly writes board game reviews at BoardGaming.com. Through his writing, D. Hunter hopes to inspire and speculate on the future and the past. He seeks deeper meanings within pulp genres of fantasy and sci-fi. D. Hunter enjoys the tales of John Ringo and Charles Stross. D. Hunter's readings lead him in a never ending cycle of sci-fi, history, physics, and psychology. D. Hunter enjoys going to DC area Goth clubs and seeing some of his favorite bands, such as VNV Nation. He also loves his home life with his partner in crime and several pets.
This entry was posted in Publishing, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Conventions and Selling books

  1. cezacherl says:

    Hey there brother-man!:)

    Nearly every convention has an ‘Artist’s Alley’, and a link on their website on how to purchase a seller’s table in their Artist’s Alley. On average they’re about $100-150 for half a table and $180-250 for a full table. After running a Convention with just half a table, I’d suggest going full if you have the material to fill it. Let me know what Conventions you’re interested in, if we both get tables at the Convention we can piggy back interest off of & for one another.

    Good luck mein freund, and when the heck you gonna let me read your Scifi novel?!

    Respectfully,

    -Charlie.

Leave a Reply

