Flying Fish: Alexandria sushi scarf down

On Sunday, I had completely forgotten that it was Cinco de Mayo. I didn’t remember until I showed up at The Flying Fish in Old Town Alexandria… to have sushi! Yeah, so appropriate right? I did have a Corona in honor of the day that, for most Americans, is the day/holiday of drinking Mexican beers and eating tacos. We’ll just really look for any reason to party won’t we? We are a melting pot of cultures and societies, so why not celebrate them all!

At any rate, I’m here to tell you about my experience with service and food. It wasn’t busy in there, but I did find the service a little bit slow to start with. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful, especially when it came to getting orders in at the end of happy hour. She was great after that first few minutes and was on top of us whenever we needed something, but not overly on top of us.

The Sushi was quite delicious overall. I also tried a little ceviche for the first time. I found it to be too limey for me, but I’d try it again. I never would have eaten something like that or hell… like raw fish sushi either. It is a time of life to experiment and learn new things, though.

The Sushi:

Mackerel- This was actually some of the best Mackerel I have yet had.

Salmon Roe- I just tried a tiny piece and I couldn’t handle it, yuck ocean taste, but to those that like it, it was enjoyable.

White Tuna- I found the texture pleasant and the flavor light.

Shrimp Tempura- This was not the best shrimp tempura I’ve had, I found it lacking in flavor that I am used to such things having.

Salmon roll- I’m not a huge salmon fan, so I am starting at a disadvantage with this roll. The avocado was a nice mix to the salmon, but I wouldn’t get it on my own.

Unagi- The sauce was a little stronger than I’m used to and it wasn’t quite as awesome tasting as other places, but not bad.

Finally, I would gladly go again and order more yummy sushi. Otani in Chantilly has better deals on Sushi and you get a free salad and soup too, so I think it probably has the better offer in the end.

About dhunterphillips

Visit my Facebook Fan Page to connect: http://www.facebook.com/DavidHunterPhillips While not working as a GeoInt Analyst in the Washington DC metro area, D. Hunter Phillips enjoys a life-long love of sci-fi, fantasy, role-playing games, and a great many other nerdy things that he explores through writing and games. D. Hunter regularly writes board game reviews at BoardGaming.com. Through his writing, D. Hunter hopes to inspire and speculate on the future and the past. He seeks deeper meanings within pulp genres of fantasy and sci-fi. D. Hunter enjoys the tales of John Ringo and Charles Stross. D. Hunter's readings lead him in a never ending cycle of sci-fi, history, physics, and psychology. D. Hunter enjoys going to DC area Goth clubs and seeing some of his favorite bands, such as VNV Nation. He also loves his home life with his partner in crime and several pets.
This entry was posted in DC/NOVA, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

