What ever happened to Goth Prom

05-2013 012

05-2013 026

I have remembered so many fond experiences from so many countless years of Goth Prom. This year, I managed to actually convince three of my co-workers to go along with me. It wasn’t easy, but in the end, they were actually very excited to go. We all got dressed up and even got them all to put on make-up. We got to Town at about 10pm and I am so glad that we showed up then instead of any earlier time.

The place was almost empty when we showed up. I felt like I had to find some desperate way to entertain my guests so that they might do such things with me again some other time.

In the end, we did, or at least, I did have fun. I enjoyed a great deal of the music played on both dance floors. It sort of goes back to why I love dance nights that have more than one dance floor. I can probably find something I want to dance to on one floor or the other and this proved to be true again.

Is this goth prom being this slow the final nail in the coffin for the goth scene in DC? I really hope not. I know a lot of new events are showing up and a lot of new concerts are coming in through some Virginia venues (which is much more convenient for me anyway).

I think the main problem with this year’s goth prom was probably the absence of a band or act to draw in lots of people. So many years of bands like Voltaire, Covenant, and others really packed the whole building. It would always remind me of the old glory days of Alchemy.

I hope and dream that the scene will pick up again, maybe we just need some new gothish cult popular movies to come out and interest the young angsty teenagers. The death of Indie rock would also go a long way.

About dhunterphillips

Visit my Facebook Fan Page to connect: http://www.facebook.com/DavidHunterPhillips While not working as a GeoInt Analyst in the Washington DC metro area, D. Hunter Phillips enjoys a life-long love of sci-fi, fantasy, role-playing games, and a great many other nerdy things that he explores through writing and games. D. Hunter regularly writes board game reviews at BoardGaming.com. Through his writing, D. Hunter hopes to inspire and speculate on the future and the past. He seeks deeper meanings within pulp genres of fantasy and sci-fi. D. Hunter enjoys the tales of John Ringo and Charles Stross. D. Hunter's readings lead him in a never ending cycle of sci-fi, history, physics, and psychology. D. Hunter enjoys going to DC area Goth clubs and seeing some of his favorite bands, such as VNV Nation. He also loves his home life with his partner in crime and several pets.
This entry was posted in Goth, Partying and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

