New Muzak Review: Blaqk Audio

It has been a hot minute since I bought some new music and talked about it on teh ol’ blog o’ sphere.

I just noticed that the long awaited new Blaqk Audio album was out. I bought the digital version and started listening about 3 weeks ago.

I was going through some interesting and emotional experiences in my life just at that very moment. I don’t know if that had something to do with the feelings that I had about the album, but it might have tainted my perspective. When I listened to the sound bites, I was not all that impressed with what I heard. After listening to the album a dozen or more times, I can say, without a doubt, that I love the album.

There are a few songs on the album that didn’t strike my fancy, but at least they aren’t just sound effect filler tracks as can be common in the genre of synthpop.

Cold War is a great song to bring new fans into the fold. It is pleasant, with interesting lyrics and quite short.

Bliss is a slower song that I discounted at first, but now I am finding it grow on me quite a bit.

Deconstructing Gods kind of bores me, I usually skip that song.

Faith Healer has fun lyrics and I imagine it will be quite fun to dance to.

The album has a lot of tragic romance elements in the lyrics, just as the previous album did. If you like slightly slower, good lyrical synth, you should definitely check it out.

About dhunterphillips

Visit my Facebook Fan Page to connect: http://www.facebook.com/DavidHunterPhillips While not working as a GeoInt Analyst in the Washington DC metro area, D. Hunter Phillips enjoys a life-long love of sci-fi, fantasy, role-playing games, and a great many other nerdy things that he explores through writing and games. D. Hunter regularly writes board game reviews at BoardGaming.com. Through his writing, D. Hunter hopes to inspire and speculate on the future and the past. He seeks deeper meanings within pulp genres of fantasy and sci-fi. D. Hunter enjoys the tales of John Ringo and Charles Stross. D. Hunter's readings lead him in a never ending cycle of sci-fi, history, physics, and psychology. D. Hunter enjoys going to DC area Goth clubs and seeing some of his favorite bands, such as VNV Nation. He also loves his home life with his partner in crime and several pets.
This entry was posted in Goth, Music, Review, Synthpop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Muzak Review: Blaqk Audio

  1. tinihoward says:

    Hey, alright! Glad this is out, I don’t think I’ll ever get bored of Cex Cells, but I’ve certainly listened to it enough that I’m ready for something new! ‘Cities of Night’ will forever be a favorite song of mine.

Leave a Reply

