80’s Sci-fi classic book: Count Zero

It is amazing for how short of a book this is that it takes so damn long to read. Every word has a purpose and there are almost no filler words. I can only imagine that editing this book must have been a painstaking process, but it is worth it. Count Zero is an unconventional and interesting book.

Reading William Gibson reminds me of the inspirations that led me to write my first published book. Though, I am no master of the craft as Gibson is, the short, abrupt approach to descriptions and moving through events is something that I did strive to emulate.

Can I also just say how much I enjoy the old cover of this book (shown above). I know this has nothing to do with the enjoyment of reading a book, but the pixelated face really just drives home the time that this book came out and a little bit of the gritty feeling of the book.

I can’t seem to get away from books with nuclear explosions in them lately. I’m not explaining any more than that.

The story follows three different characters in an amateur hacker, a highly skilled mercenary, and an art collector. If I read a description of this book, I might never have read it, but I am sure glad that I did.

The plot leads to an ending that I never would have expected and it had a very god in the machine feel to it. In a world where Hollywood just makes remakes, sequels, and predictable movies, the end of this book was a very welcome relief from most of the media I have soaked in in the last couple of years.

About dhunterphillips

Visit my Facebook Fan Page to connect: http://www.facebook.com/DavidHunterPhillips While not working as a GeoInt Analyst in the Washington DC metro area, D. Hunter Phillips enjoys a life-long love of sci-fi, fantasy, role-playing games, and a great many other nerdy things that he explores through writing and games. D. Hunter regularly writes board game reviews at BoardGaming.com. Through his writing, D. Hunter hopes to inspire and speculate on the future and the past. He seeks deeper meanings within pulp genres of fantasy and sci-fi. D. Hunter enjoys the tales of John Ringo and Charles Stross. D. Hunter's readings lead him in a never ending cycle of sci-fi, history, physics, and psychology. D. Hunter enjoys going to DC area Goth clubs and seeing some of his favorite bands, such as VNV Nation. He also loves his home life with his partner in crime and several pets.
This entry was posted in Book, Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 80’s Sci-fi classic book: Count Zero

  1. I wish I could find this book in my country, Indonesia. It sounds must to read. 😀

  2. I have a copy I could send, but I don’t know how much the shipping costs 😛

Leave a Reply

