Ending the deadly game with Ender

I recently caught Ender’s Game on HBO GO. I heard a lot of pretty terrible reviews and a lot of fans of the book that were just furious with the poor movie performance.

Now, I’m gonna lay the opinion smack down on you!

Let me start by saying that I have read the first book, and I have not read Ender’s Shadow. Also, I didn’t really like the book. There is just something inherently not fun about reading about a story focusing on children that is not a children’s book. In that case I would understand writing about children. In the book, the children were younger over all than they were in the movie.

I went into the movie with incredibly low expectations, although, my buddy that was watching it with me said that it wasn’t so terrible.

The pacing of the movie was a little bit weird, but I actually don’t mind that all that much. I find that that generally means it isn’t following the cookie cutter Hollywood formula.

The actor who played Ender had a creepy genius look to him. The combat sequences were enjoyable and the end had an esoteric sequence that I found a good way to describe Ender’s final mental state.

Harrison Ford was not as monotone as I felt people were calling him out for. The other kids were mostly forgettable, though I did enjoy the short squad leader and the way he bossed everybody around. The actors all took it seriously, which gave it a good feel.

This movie is an entertaining sci-fi flick that you’ll probably enjoy unless you have a… passionate investment in the book.

About dhunterphillips

Visit my Facebook Fan Page to connect: http://www.facebook.com/DavidHunterPhillips While not working as a GeoInt Analyst in the Washington DC metro area, D. Hunter Phillips enjoys a life-long love of sci-fi, fantasy, role-playing games, and a great many other nerdy things that he explores through writing and games. D. Hunter regularly writes board game reviews at BoardGaming.com. Through his writing, D. Hunter hopes to inspire and speculate on the future and the past. He seeks deeper meanings within pulp genres of fantasy and sci-fi. D. Hunter enjoys the tales of John Ringo and Charles Stross. D. Hunter's readings lead him in a never ending cycle of sci-fi, history, physics, and psychology. D. Hunter enjoys going to DC area Goth clubs and seeing some of his favorite bands, such as VNV Nation. He also loves his home life with his partner in crime and several pets.
This entry was posted in Film, Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

